Book Review: It Ends With Us by Colleen Hoover

Title: It Ends with Us

Author: Colleen Hoover

Publisher:  Atria Books (August 2, 2016)

Format: Paperback

Pages: 384

Synopsis from Goodreads:

Lily hasn’t always had it easy, but that’s never stopped her from working hard for the life she wants. She’s come a long way from the small town in Maine where she grew up—she graduated from college, moved to Boston, and started her own business. So when she feels a spark with a gorgeous neurosurgeon named Ryle Kincaid, everything in Lily’s life suddenly seems almost too good to be true.

Ryle is assertive, stubborn, maybe even a little arrogant. He’s also sensitive, brilliant, and has a total soft spot for Lily. And the way he looks in scrubs certainly doesn’t hurt. Lily can’t get him out of her head. But Ryle’s complete aversion to relationships is disturbing. Even as Lily finds herself becoming the exception to his “no dating” rule, she can’t help but wonder what made him that way in the first place.

As questions about her new relationship overwhelm her, so do thoughts of Atlas Corrigan—her first love and a link to the past she left behind. He was her kindred spirit, her protector. When Atlas suddenly reappears, everything Lily has built with Ryle is threatened.

First things first..It is good to go into this book without knowing anything about it at all aside from the fact that Colleen Hoover wrote it. Damn. That was what happened to me. When it comes to Colleen Hoover books, they become an automatic buy for me because her books are frigging fabulous.This book totally made me stop and think about life.

Proceed with caution. Spoilers ahead. 🙂

Alright, here we go. It Ends with Us starts off with a meeting between Lily Bloom and Ryle Kincaid on an apartment rooftop where they shared naked truths about them. Sparks fly. Then, stuff happen over the years until they meet again. Yes, they were brought together but another man in Lily’s life from the past comes back and that is Atlas Corrigan. Things get messy since then.

This book has broken me into pieces. I went into reading this book expecting the usual-Colleen Hoover-wow-happy-happy-novel but no this is totally different from her other novels.Everything unexpected happened and by that, what I mean is that what I wanted to happen did not happen. Although, I can totally understand the purpose of what she decided to do to the plot. Like Lily, I fell in love with Ryle and hoped that changes between their relationship will occur for the better. Too bad, I hoped for that because my heart just got totally broken for what they could have been. However, their relationship became toxic and nobody wants that.

With regards to Atlas, yeah..Lily’s background story with him was beautiful. I admired their strong friendship when they were just kids.I want to cry with them during their obstacles in childhood.

When the mayhem in Lily and Ryle’s relationship was happening, I was so torn up. I kept praying that Ryle would change and that Lily will give him another chance but on the other side, I want Lily to make his life hell for hurting her. It was cool that Atlas was there for Lily but damn I did not like this love triangle. I just wish that there was no love triangle in this book. I’m so pissed off for Lily choosing Atlas at the end. I mean she should have been strong on her own. I dunno. This is why love triangles in books are becoming irritating.

Don’t get me wrong. I still love Colleen Hoover’s amazing work and I still worship the queen but I guess the characters just did not connect with me unlike her characters in her previous books. Although that’s the case, I still appreciate this novel. I think it sends a very powerful message to everyone about abusive relationships. It’s an eye opener to everyone and I think it’s still worth the read.

4-rating

Join the book madness!