Book Review: Between the Lines by Jodi Picoult & Samantha Van Leer

13131693Title: Between the Lines (Between the Lines #1)

Author: Jodi Picoult & Samantha van Leer

Publisher:  Hodder & Stoughton (July 5, 2012)

Format: Paperback

Pages: 384

Synopsis from Goodreads:

What happens when happily ever after… isn’t?
Delilah 15 is a loner, obsessed with a fairy tale. One day she hears the prince, Oliver 16, who has tried other readers before, speak to her. He feels trapped, and wants out. His best friend Frump is a dog now, but was a boy, pants for Ollie’s predestined princess Seraphima. Feelings grow along with frustrations.

This is such a cutesy novel that I was glad I was able to read. Luckily, I found a copy of this book in a local book thrift shop in our country. The cover was really lovely. It was my first book written by Jodi Picoult and I really was not expecting much but it turned out that I loved it.

The characters were so adorable though they can get a bit irritating at some points because they can be shallow.I’m not expecting them to be that deep but I enjoyed each and every one of them.I liked Delilah’s character as it seemed that she’s an endearing character. Oliver was a bit rash at some points in the book but he’s pretty much nice.

There was just an issue for me at the end of the book. I found it a little disturbing because how could one’s life be so terrible that he or she would like to be the one stuck in a book? I may not understand the point of view of an individual like that but still life is worth living and I am not sure what the authors intended to mean by that part of the story.

Overall, this novel was a cute and light read that I was craving for a long long time now. Oh and this satisfied my wish for a novel which tells a story of what will happen if the characters we are reading will come to life.

4-rating

Join the book madness!

