Book Review: The Kiss of Deception by Mary E. Pearson


18490681Title
: The Kiss of Deception (The Remnant Chronicles #1)

Author: Mary E. Pearson

Publisher:  Henry Holt and Co. (July 8, 2014)

Format: Hardcover

Pages: 489

Synopsis from Goodreads:

A princess must find her place in a reborn world.

She flees on her wedding day.

She steals ancient documents from the Chancellor’s secret collection.

She is pursued by bounty hunters sent by her own father.

She is Princess Lia, seventeen, First Daughter of the House of Morrighan.

The Kingdom of Morrighan is steeped in tradition and the stories of a bygone world, but some traditions Lia can’t abide. Like having to marry someone she’s never met to secure a political alliance.

Fed up and ready for a new life, Lia flees to a distant village on the morning of her wedding. She settles in among the common folk, intrigued when two mysterious and handsome strangers arrive—and unaware that one is the jilted prince and the other an assassin sent to kill her. Deceptions swirl and Lia finds herself on the brink of unlocking perilous secrets—secrets that may unravel her world—even as she feels herself falling in love.

A wonderfully written book that will leave you wanting more.

I have been hunting this book for a long time. Thankfully, I finally found a copy and got to read it. As I was reading reading the beginning chapters, I was really intrigued. The author will make you guess. Who is who? It’s good I guess but I did feel frustrated.

We have Princess Lia, the main protagonist. Then there’s two guys she will meet along her journey which may be a prince or may be her assassin. It was a different kind of experience for me as a reader.You get introduced to the Prince’s and the Assassin’s point of view. Then, you will look for the littlest of clues so you can identify them with the next chapters. Why did I feel frustrated? Because my guess was wrong. I kind of still hoping that my bet would be the endgame.

As much as I enjoyed the charade of who is who, I was a bit annoyed at how Lia is absorbed with love. I just wish she was more than that.

I am satisfied with it but it’s not something that will make you feel so much love for the characters. Don’t get me wrong but there are other stories which will make you care about the characters, the kind that will eat away at your thoughts and consume your heart (ehem *coughs* Throne of Glass series). Why did I bring up ToG? Because I have seen recommendations that if I want something similar to ToG, I should read A Kiss of Deception. Sure, it is similar with the badass princess theme but yeah..they are different.

On the other hand, the story about the rivalry of the kingdoms is pretty much interesting. The culture and passages from their scriptures, I fell in love with. Plus, everything that pertains to the Gift makes me so curious to know more information about it. How does it work? How is it passed? How will it affect the rest of the story?

The book ended with a cliffhanger as usual. I am curious about who the Komizar is. My rating for this is:

4-rating

 

Join the book madness!

