Book Review: Cinder by Marissa Meyer

13722513Title: Cinder (The Lunar Chronicles #1)

Author: Marissa Meyer

Publisher:  Square Fish (January 8, 2013)

Format: Trade Paperback

Pages: 387

Synopsis from Goodreads:

Humans and androids crowd the raucous streets of New Beijing. A deadly plague ravages the population. From space, a ruthless lunar people watch, waiting to make their move. No one knows that Earth’s fate hinges on one girl.

Cinder, a gifted mechanic, is a cyborg. She’s a second-class citizen with a mysterious past, reviled by her stepmother and blamed for her stepsister’s illness. But when her life becomes intertwined with the handsome Prince Kai’s, she suddenly finds herself at the center of an intergalactic struggle, and a forbidden attraction. Caught between duty and freedom, loyalty and betrayal, she must uncover secrets about her past in order to protect her world’s future.

First book I have read this year is Cinder by Marissa Meyer. I am so amazed by this wonderful Cinderella retelling. I have been putting it off for a long time because I was not really into cyborg stories but I do love fairy tale retellings. After being bugged by my book nerd friends that it is indeed a great novel, I finally gave in. I admit I have been so wrong by refusing to read this. Nevertheless, I acknowledge my mistake and I must say I am a Marissa Meyer fan now.

The world that Miss Meyer built is totally engrossing. I was taken to a modern Beijing where there are cyborgs, androids, and hovers. Imagine our world being like that in the future. I was absorbed in the book in just a few pages.

In terms of the writing style, it had taken me some time to get used with the technical terms in the book. However, the way the story was told made me crave for more. The pacing was great. I think I did not become bored while reading the book.

Our main characters Cinder and Prince Kai are adorable to the nth level. I started shipping them as soon as they saw each other. I knew that their my next OTP. Plus, these ones are hilarious. Their sense of humor was one of the things I loved the most about them. Not only that, these characters are smart..not the lovesick characters we usually get in other novels. They know their priorities in life, Kai putting his kingdom before him and Cinder prioritizes her freedom.

Dr. Erland, you see, I love him too even though most of the time, I am suspicious of him. There are loads of moments when I think: “He’s definitely shipping Cinder and Prince Kai.” Also, Iko has a special place in my heart. I would not mind having a droid like her.

Then, there’s Bitch Queen Levana. Who else here is afraid of her? Well, I am! With her powers, I swear I am going to run off from New Beijing. She is definitely creepy and scary as hell. But, I also want to strangle her and pull her hair off.

After some chapters, we get to know the plot twist which did not really surprise me at all. I mean there are clues here and there.. that you could pick up as you go along the book. But I tell you, it’s really cool!

My final verdict? This book gets a 5/5 stars from me. I am sure that I will be reading the next books in the series.5-rating

2 thoughts on “Book Review: Cinder by Marissa Meyer

Join the book madness!

