Book Review: Mistborn: The Final Empire by Brandon Sanderson

Title: Mistborn: The Final Empire

Author: Brandon Sanderson

Publisher:  Tor Teen (May 13, 2014)

Format: Trade Paperback

Pages: 627

Synopsis from Goodreads:

Once, a hero rose to save the world. He failed.

For a thousand years since, the world has been a wasteland of ash and mist ruled by the immortal emperor known as the Lord Ruler. Every revolt has failed miserably.

Yet somehow, hope survives. Hope that dares to dream of ending the empire and defeating the Lord Ruler. A new kind of uprising is being planned—one that depends on the cunning of a brilliant criminal mastermind and the determination of an unlikely heroine: a teenage street urchin named Vin.

Once, a hero rose to save the world and failed. This time, can a young heroine succeed?

Hi Book Nerds! I’m back with another review and this time with Brandon Sanderson’s Mistborn: The Final Empire. Once upon a time, I have encountered this book and did not bother reading it. Why? Because it’s so long and I only got the ebook..It’s not a good excuse I know and I regret the delay for reading this book.I would have discovered it’s epic-ness a long long time ago.

*Spoiler alert!!!*

The story is set in The Final Empire,centrally in Luthadel, where the Lord Ruler has governed it for thousands of years. Every rebellion against the empire has failed miserably. A crew of “thieves” has been hired to aid in overthrowing the Lord Ruler. Kelsier, together with Vin and the others in the crew, organizes a plan to bring a stop to the abuse of power. Will it be possible for them to succeed in defeating the dark ruler who’s been known to be an immortal and overly powerful?

During the last few days in February, i was so so bored with the usual novels that I was reading. I was terribly stuck in a book slump phase.I got around to buying this book and finally got the courage to read it. It’s an enormous book with over 600 pages and I’m not sure at all if I can even finish it.

As I went through the beginning chapters of the book, I thought, “whoa, I’m going to need time to absorb all of this”. The world is just so new to me. Allomancy is something that I haven’t encountered before in other novels. Also, the government system is so unique. I immediately felt pity for the skaa who don’t even resist the forces of their oppressors. Then, I got introduced to Vin, a street skaa who’s a part of Camon’s thieving crew. They basically arrange fake deals with the obligators (empire’s government officials). Vin has always leaned on her “luck”, as she liked to call it. Camon kept her in his crew because of Vin’s talent. There, I got meet Kelsier, a mysterious mistborn who seemed interested in the street urchin, Vin. Later on,Vin joins Kelsier’s team on his crazy job to destroy The Final Empire.

Honestly, the first few chapters of the novel had me going like “uh-huh, this is good enough”. It was when Vin started getting involved with the nobles that my interest peaked. I really began to enjoy the novel from then on.

At first, I didn’t like how Vin is so distrustful, suspicious and paranoid.Her character was so dark and depressing to read. It’s when Kelsier came to her life that I began to love her as a character. She grew up and developed a lot. I loved how she transformed from the oh-so-negative Vin to her complete opposite. From the beginning, it was Kelsier that I immediately fell in love with. He’s funny, kind, witty, and charismatic. I can’t even with my feels when he’s being so badass. He’s someone that I had a lot of faith into.  Vin and Kelsier combined together is such an epic duo.

I also enjoyed reading about the other members of the crew. My fave is definitely Sazed. He’s like a toned-down version of kickass but he’s so awesome, I swear. I loved him so so much!!!! I also liked Dockson and Marsh. They’re so clever and great. Aside from them, I had doubts with the other members of the crew. Boy, I was so wrong doubting them.

Let me also just fangirl with Elend. He’s such an enjoyable character to read.From the moment, Vin and him met at the Venture ball. He had me with his first line about Vin stealing his reading spot. I swear to gods, I would easily fall in love with a guy whose first words to me are about his love for reading.

As the story progresses, the magic system of Allomancy is explained further. It’s as if the readers are also learning together with Vin. As chaos gets worse in the empire, I got more and more tense because I know for sure, there’s got to be someone who would suffer the consequences of their actions. Despite my trust with the crew’s talents, I was so blindsided when a favorite character of mine was taken away from me. Why oh why??? My heart broke to pieces at that moment.

Oh, just for second! Let me talk about the Lord Ruler. In my mind, he is Lord Voldemort of the Harry Potter series. I don’t know why but I kept on imagining him as the Lord Ruler. Anyway, I was so shocked to learn about how he looked like in his first appearance at the execution of some unfortunate skaa. So, I just pictured him like the Tom Riddle. Lol. 😉

Towards the last part of the book, I was so compelled with the turn of the events. I can’t even bring down the book. The events were so nerve-wracking. I was so scared for Vin and the other members of the crew and how everything would turn out.

I was so contented with the ending of the novel. I felt like everything was given justice though there are still loads of questions in my mind.

I must say that I am so proud of myself for finishing this book. I felt that I’m so lucky to discover this amazing world and its characters. I’m so excited to get the next book in the series. I have no doubts that I will try to read more Brandon Sanderson books, now that I know that his writing style is exceptional.

Join the book madness!

