Book Review: Crown of Midnight by Sarah J. Maas

Title:  Crown of Midnight (Throne of Glass #2)

Author: Sarah J. Maas

Publisher: Bloomsbury USA Childrens (September 2, 2014)

Format: Paperback

Pages: 448

Synopsis from Goodreads:

Celaena Sardothien is the king’s Champion—yet she is far from loyal to the crown, for the man she serves is bent on evil. But working against her master in secret is no easy task. As Celaena tries to untangle the mysteries buried within the glass castle, she can trust no one, not even her supposed allies Crown Prince Dorian, Captain of the Guard Chaol, and foreign princess Nehemia.

Then, an unspeakable tragedy shatters Celaena’s world. She must decide once and for all where her loyalties lie . . . and whom she will fight for.

I am a self-confessed ToG obsessed fan, a Doraena shipper.. Last time I checked I was just a normal book nerd but after I read Throne of Glass and Crown of Midnight, my fangirl heart has been reignited.

There’s just something about Ms. Maas’ writing style that made me entranced with the magical world and characters she created. Once I opened CoM, I was sucked right back in Erilea. I felt as if I was there with the characters. She was so good..that it was like I have a movie playing out in my mind. You know that feeling?

In CoM, we see what happens to Celaena after she won as the King’s new Champion/Assassin. She was basically given a list of people who pose a threat to the kingdom and she has to kill them all. Not only that, dark forces are starting to rise in the kingdom. When a horrible incident occurs, whatever’s left of Celaena’s life crumbles. Whatever she needs to do to revenge, she will do it to make those people pay.

I can’t say whether this book is better than ToG but all I know is, it’s also epic and fantastic. Everytime Celaena goes on a mission, I make my heart ready for all the blood and gore that’s about to take place. I know she’s a damn good fighter. Oh gosh, she’s really one of my favorite female protagonists of all time. She’s so strong, brave, and intelligent.

The only thing that irritated me the most about this book is the Team Chaol/Celaena sailing. I do not ship them and I never will. What does Celaena see in Chaol? Sorry but I don’t trust the guy. He’s too loyal to the king. I think they are better off as friends. As for Dorian, I hurt for him okay? Everytime Celaena pushes him away, I want to cry. Can’t she see that they’re right for each other? Lol. But seriously though, I’m Team Dorian all the way.

On the other aspect of the book, I think it’s really cool that we get to unravel Celaena’s past and origin little by little. I’m not surprised at all to find out about what she really is. I want to see more about what her other capabilities are. What I’m surprised about is Dorian’s gift. Who would have thought that the King’s son would possess what was banished and forbidden in the kingdom.

It’s really amazing to find out about all these stuff. As a reader, these are the things I need to be more invested in a book. This is a series that I would be so looking forward to everytime that there will be a new book to be released. This is a series that will make me care so much about the characters..and I’m afraid for Celaena and Dorian.. They’re obviously the only two characters I care about, you see. It’s also a series that will make me sad when it comes to an end.

Seriously, Throne of Glass is a book series that will make you feel “living in a magical world”. For me, I just want to hug and devour and sit reading ToG books for days..because that is how good this series is. As you finish every book, you wouldn’t want to go back to reality yet. You’ll be hangover. I’m pretty sure that you will be.

This is just the second book in the ToG series that I have read. I am so invested with the story. I am so looking forward to getting my hands on the next books in the series. Can someone bring Ms. Sarah J. Maas in my country? I want to hug her and thank her for making my life as a reader more exciting.

If you came to this point of my review and you’re still not convinced to read the ToG series, I don’t know what to do with you. Seriously, pick the books now and come fangirl with us. I’m hoping that we can form a support group for all the Doraena (Dorian/Celaena) shippers out there.

Obviously, I am going to give this rating for CoM 😉 because I’m such a fan

5-rating

Join the book madness!

