Book Review: Mud Vein by Tarryn Fisher

Title: Mud Vein

Author: Tarryn Fisher

Publisher: CreateSpace (March 8, 2014)

Format: Paperback

Pages: 292

Synopsis from Goodreads:

When reclusive novelist Senna Richards wakes up on her thirty-third birthday, everything has changed. Caged behind an electrical fence, locked in a house in the middle of the snow, Senna is left to decode the clues to find out why she was taken. If she wants her freedom, she has to take a close look at her past. But, her past has a heartbeat…and her kidnapper is nowhere to be found. With her survival hanging by a thread, Senna soon realizes this is a game. A dangerous one. Only the truth can set her free.

I’ve been seeing so much hype around this book and it’s one of the most anticipated releases of 2014. I haven’t read any Tarryn Fisher novels yet and this is the first of her novels that I was able to read.

This is not your typical romance book. It’s not a book that you ever thought it will be. I’m pretty sure this will blow up your mind. That was pretty much my reaction when I finished it.

The story is about Senna Richards, a famous author who gets abducted and locked inside a house in the middle of nowhere with a man she had a past with. She later on discovered that her being locked up is a game that her captor decided to play her with. She must uncover her past to get her freedom.

The synopsis is really attention-grabbing. Also, I’ve been hearing so many good things about Miss Fisher, so I decided to give this book a try. I’ve been warned though that’s it not a HEA type of story. At least, I knew what to expect. I had set my expectations to HIGH because well the book sounds so promising and thrilling.

The chapters of the book are divided into stages of grief. There’s the denial, anger, bargaining, depression, and acceptance. When you looked at them, you will be so excited to start the book. My energy level when I began reading was so high because I was so keen on discovering the dark secrets of the main character.

At the beginning of the novel, you’ll realize that the main character, Senna, had lots of misfortunes to deal with in her life. She practically doesn’t have family and friends. Yes, she’s had past relationships but she’s got her mind set on not falling in love again. At some point in the story, we get introduced to Dr. Isaac Asterholder. He’s sort of Senna’s knight in shining armor. Isaac is everything a dream guy would be. Senna and Isaac meet in the most unfortunate circumstance in her life. Ever since then, he becomes an almost permanent fixture in her life until she pushes him away. Years later, they meet again but in the most unexpected way. There, they discover what they truly are for each other.

I have several problems with this book. I was just kind of disappointed. First, I think that the main character refused to grow. She’s got lack of self-preservation. She’s been damaged and yet she refused to cope up. Isaac kept on saving her. It was tiring and frustrating to read about her..struggling. It felt like she was battling a fight that she was never going to win.

I also think that the end of the book did not do justice to everything that happened to Senna. I was disappointed at the twist of the story..which is the unraveling of the mystery behind her abduction. I was mind-blown by that. I just can’t believe it. I was hoping for a deeper and more acceptable truth to the reason why she went through all that trouble.

I really really would love to like how the story turned out but I cannot do it. Don’t get me wrong. I love Tarryn Fisher’s writing style. It was beautiful actually. I love her use of words to convey the characters’ emotions. I just don’t get the reason behind Senna’s capture and the end of her story. I was more of looking forward to see a sensible explanation rather than what appeared in the book. Aside from that, I think the story is interesting enough for me to finish it.

Will I read Miss Fisher’s other novels? Yes, I think so. I know that she’s a brilliant writer. Maybe this story was just not for me. I have read darker and more depressing novels before but I just don’t like how the story ended. I want more justice for Senna. That’s all. It pains me to write this review because I was just expecting something different.

2-rating

 

Join the book madness!

