Book Review: Unravel by Calia Read

Title: Unravel

Author: Calia Read

Published: January 1, 2014

Format: Kindle Edition

Pages: 363

Synopsis from Goodreads:

Six months ago, I was happy. I was simply Naomi Carradine.

One month ago, I was admitted into a psych ward.

Yesterday, Lachlan visited me. Kissed me. And told me that I’m starting to lose my mind.

Hours later, Max haunted my thoughts, reminding me I’m not crazy and that he needs my help.

A few minutes ago, I drifted further from reality, trying to unravel the past.

And now…everyone thinks I’m insane. But, I know he’s real, and I know he needs me.

Do you believe me?

 

 

W-O-W! This book is one of my best reads this year. It tells the story of Naomi Carradine who gets admitted in a psychiatric facility because of such a terrifying past. It’s something that will make you crave for more as you turn the pages and it’ll leave you breathless for what’s about to come.

In the beginning of the novel, I was struggling to “get into” the main character’s mind. She is definitely in the psych facility for a reason. At first, I thought she was sane. I only assumed it in the beginning because of the way she narrates the story. However, as she gets her delusions and hallucinations, I start picturing her situation more clearly. My interest in the story got higher with every chapter I read. Being a nurse in real life, I had some experience in studying and dealing with psych patients. Due to this reason, I was so fascinated with what is happening with Naomi. I kept on forming theories and stuff but I seem to have mistaken with most of them. Unravel is really unpredictable because the narrator is unreliable. Unreliable because you wouldn’t really know if what she’s telling you is real or not. It was a thrilling experience to get into the mindset of someone who’s undergoing the same experience as Naomi does.

I am not really a fan of flashbacks but in this novel, it’s so essential to understand the whole story. I was really hooked in finding out about what happened with Naomi’s past, especially to Lana. I am not going to say much more about Naomi’s past because it will spoil the fun for those who have yet o read Unravel.

Bravo for Mary, Dr. Rutledge and Lachlan for sticking with Naomi until the end. They are my sane favorite characters. Lol. Seriously though, this is unputdownable. It’s a really crazy story..literally CRAZY. I really enjoyed reading this. Like I said, it’s one of my fave reads this year. My reading experience was indescribable or maybe I could describe it but I was almost close to reacting violently with the plot twists.

I highly recommend Unravel by Calia Read if you love mystery/thriller/romance novels. I assure you that it’s an exciting book that will make your mind reeling when you finish it.

5-rating

Join the book madness!

