Book Review: Anna and the French Kiss by Stephanie Perkins

Title: Anna and the French Kiss (Anna and the French Kiss #1)

Author: Stephanie Perkins

Publisher:  Speak (January 1, 2010)

Format: Paperback

Pages: 372

Synopsis from Goodreads:

Can Anna find love in the City of Light?
Anna is happy in Atlanta. She has a loyal best friend and a crush on her coworker at the movie theater, who is just starting to return her affection. So she’s less than thrilled when her father decides to send her to a boarding school in Paris for her senior year. But despite not speaking a word of French, Anna meets some cool new people, including the handsome Étienne St. Clair, who quickly becomes her best friend. Unfortunately, he’s taken —and Anna might be, too. Will a year of romantic near misses end with the French kiss she’s waiting for?

 

There’s so much buzz going around about this book. What’s my reaction? Buy a copy and see what’s in it for me.

 

This book is one of my best reads this year. Gosh! I miss having the experience of reading such a feel-good book. All throughout the novel, I was just laughing and shaking my head at the events (in a positive way!). I fell in love with everything about the story. First, the setting..which is Paris. If you are a hopeless romantic like me, coming to Paris is probably one of the things on top of your list. It’s the City of Love..so almost automatically, a novel set in Paris would make an interesting read to me.

In the story,  Anna Oliphant gets sent off to the School of America in Paris by her parents. Initially, she was so frustrated to leave her family and friends behind to attend a prestigious school in Paris. There, she meets some new friends, one of which is the charming Etienne St. Clair *cue squeals*.

Anna and all of the other characters were so fun to read. It’s very easy to identify with Anna. I love her attitude though there were moments in the book in which I was SMH and facepalming. I also love the fact that Anna loves movies. Then, there is Etienne St. Clair. It’s obvious that by his looks, girls swoon over him (myself included). His sense of humor and love for history makes him so adorable. My only problem with him was how much an a** he is when he can’t let go of Ellie and just be with Anna only. Oops! I probably should stop babbling about the story.

What else? Hmmm.. I am pretty much sure that I felt as if I was doing a tour in Paris while reading Anna and the French Kiss. With Anna and St. Clair, I had my journey with them and had fun roaming Paris. I had a great time the whole time I was reading it. I’m so in love with it!! (I said that already right? LOL)

If I have time, I would probably go and reread this book. It’s very enjoyable and unputdownable. It’s a perfect novel for those people who are looking for a light and really funny story. I definitely recommend it to lovers of contemporary romance novels.

5-rating

4 thoughts on “Book Review: Anna and the French Kiss by Stephanie Perkins

Join the book madness!

