Book Review: Reasonable Doubt Volume 1 by Whitney Gracia Williams

Title: Reasonable Doubt Volume 1 (Reasonable Doubt #1)

Author: Whitney Gracia Williams

Published: March 31, 2014

Format: E-book

Pages: 78

Synopsis from Goodreads:

My cock has an appetite.

huge and very particular appetite: Blonde, curvy, and preferably not a fucking liar… (Although, that’s a story for another day.)

As a high profile lawyer, I don’t have time to waste on relationships, so I fulfill my needs by anonymously chatting and sleeping with women I meet online.

My rules are simple: One dinner. One night. No repeats.

This is only casual sex. Nothing more. Nothing less.

At least it was , until “Alyssa”…

She was supposed to be a 27 year old lawyer, a book hoarder, and completely unattractive. She was supposed to be someone I shared law advice with late at night, someone I could trust with details of my weekly escapades.

But then she came into my firm for an interview—a college-interninterview, and everything fucking changed…

There have been lots of hype for this novel from my bookworm friends and book bloggers. They say that it’s really hot and addicting. My oh my, and I didn’t know what I got myself into. The first line in the blurb got my attention, like really got it. Lol.  The story is told in two POVs, Andrew’s and Aubrey’s. They met each other in a chatroom for lawyers online. They have been talking for awhile and somehow formed a friendship.

Andrew is the usual kind of guy you get in new adult stories. A guy who sleeps with different women from time to time. At the same time, he’s someone who’s got issues and temper problems. What’s his issue? He hates lying…and liars. That is the outstanding thing about this character. Then, there is Alyssa..oops..I mean Aubrey. She got this secret identity online and became friends with a certain lawyer guy there. When she comes in for her interview as an intern for a law firm, her world gets turned upside down.

I can say that I definitely love the writing style of Ms. Williams. It’s riveting. So, I was pretty much unstoppable once I started from the very first page. I liked how it is fast-paced and packed with excitement. I also think that the chapter titles, which are all law terms, are cool. The sexual tension between the two characters is intense as well. Gosh!

However, the ending was something that I did not see coming but the thing is, it’s a bit cliche. It was funny though because I thought all along the novel that Andrew hates lying. What happens at the end of the first volume? I wouldn’t say..but it kind of pisses me off.

Overall, I think it’s an exciting story. I love the pacing and the characters. I finished it in one seating. I just don’t like the ending maybe because it’s cliche to me and it’s a cliffhanger. Readers of new adult romance novels would definitely love this novel. You wouldn’t feel bored. I promise. =)

4-rating

Join the book madness!

