Book Review: Bang (Black Lotus #1) by E.K. Blair

Title: Bang (Black Lotus #1)

Author: E.K. Blair

Published: May 19, 2014

Format: Kindle Edition

Pages: 420

Synopsis from Goodreads:

They say when you take revenge against another you lose a part of your innocence.
But I’m not innocent.
I haven’t been for a very long time.
My innocence was stolen from me. Taken was the life I was supposed to have. The soul I was born with. The ruby heart embedded in a life full of hopes and dreams.

Gone.
Vanished.

I never even had a choice.
I mourn that life. Mourn the what-ifs.
Until now.
I’m ready to take back what was always meant to be mine.

But every plan has a fatal flaw. Sometimes it’s the heart. 

Let me take a deep breath before starting my review for this awesome novel. *takes a deep breath*

Once in awhile, we encounter a novel that is so powerful and life-changing. I think Bang by E.K. Blair is one of those novels who got to really give me chills and just appreciate what I have in life. I can’t even explain what I really feel about it. It’s just like one of the most traumatizing novels that I have ever read.

Bang is a story of a girl named Nina who had a dark and lonely past behind her. She had a good life before but it was all taken away from her when she loses her father. She’s dumped into hell on earth. Then, she becomes scarred and tortured inside. Years after her tragic childhood, she grows into a beautiful, sophisticated, but vengeful woman.

From the very first page of this novel, I was intrigued by Nina’s character. I wondered why is she that way.. why was she keeping her real feelings and why was she hiding and lying? I had all those questions in my head as I went on with every chapter. As I go on reading it, I feel terrified of all the things that happened to her. I was afraid for her. It really pains me to see what she went through. There are just so many things happening. I meant it when I mentioned earlier that this is probably one of the most traumatizing novels I’ve ever read. What happened to Nina was just so sick…good thing that I was able to survive reading it.

I definitely love the whole novel as terrified as I was for the main character. I appreciated how strong and complex Nina is. The writing style of E.K. Blair is epic! She did a great job for making me hang on to her story even if  most of the events in the story were dark. I was able to get through it and finishing it was worth it. It definitely ended with a Bang! Also, I think the best part of the story was Nina finding love. I think that her finding a chance at love made her live again and have hopes again.

What do I don’t like about this novel? Uhmm..maybe the main character being so tortured. I guess I sympathized for her so much. She’s had a lot of hardship and to be honest, I was disturbed with everything that happened to her.

If you were intrigued reading my review, please do read Bang by E.K. Blair. It’s such an awesome novel. It’s full of mind-blowing plot twists that will probably put you in a state of shock after reading it. Oh and a friendly reminder, please read something light and funny after this. Lol. I can’t wait what will be in the next book in the series.

5-rating

Join the book madness!

