Book Review: To all the boys I’ve loved before by Jenny Han

Title: To All The Boys I’ve Loved Before (To All The Boys I’ve Loved Before #1)

Author: Jenny Han

Publisher: Simon & Schuster (April 22, 2014)

Format: Trade Paperback

Pages: 368

Synopsis from Goodreads:

Lara Jean’s love life goes from imaginary to out of control in this heartfelt novel from the New York Times bestselling author of The Summer I Turned Pretty series.

What if all the crushes you ever had found out how you felt about them… all at once?

Lara Jean Song keeps her love letters in a hatbox her mother gave her. They aren’t love letters that anyone else wrote for her; these are ones she’s written. One for every boy she’s ever loved—five in all. When she writes, she pours out her heart and soul and says all the things she would never say in real life, because her letters are for her eyes only. Until the day her secret letters are mailed, and suddenly, Lara Jean’s love life goes from imaginary to out of control.

 

First of all, let me adore this gorgeous cover. I really really love it so much. It’s too girly but it’s just right for me. Anyway, I think this is one of my favorite reads this year. I finished it within 12 hours. I was so into the story that I just can’t stop reading it.

I pretty much got interested with the synopsis. I mean..what would I do if the love letters for the guys I’ve loved before get sent out to them? I’d panic too. So from the moment I saw it in the bookstore, I got myself a copy. It’s my first Jenny Han book so I didn’t really know what to expect but I’ve been seeing a lot of good reviews.

I was actually worried at the beginning of the book. I was hoping that this wouldn’t be the average novel that’s about a girl who pines for boys she can’t have. Well, it’s not that average. I was surprised to find myself really enjoying it plus I think I can relate to Lara Jean in some ways. The book turned out to be unputdownable in my opinion.

The characters were all lovable and adorable. There were some moments in the book that I got teary eyed. I like the dynamics of the Covey family. At least, they weren’t so messed up. Dr. Covey did a great job raising three daughters on his own. Margot is really a good model to her younger sisters. Though she chose to leave her family behind, she’s really a strong character but I’m irritated at her being a control freak. Lara Jean is shy, smart, and simple. Gosh, she has a lots of traits that I can identify myself with. Then, there’s Kitty. Kitty is so cute and she’s so witty for a ten year old. I also enjoyed the Korean side being featured in the book.

The boys that Lara Jean wrote the letters for..well, they are really interesting characters. I enjoyed Josh and Peter very much..but I liked Peter better. He’s so cute and funny. I knew from the very beginning that he has feelings for Lara Jean. I can’t help but fangirl over the two of them. My favorites were when they went to the antique thingy sale of an old man and when they went to a school trip. It’s one of those books that make my heart ache because it’s so beautiful. Oh and I definitely enjoyed the halloween day at their school.

To all the boys I’ve loved before is far different from the past books I’ve read recently. I was surprised to find myself loving it. There wasn’t much of the big drama and action happening but I enjoyed it because it’s a light read. The main character wasn’t that much whiny which is a plus. I’m not satisfied with the ending though. I want more!!!! Good thing there’s a sequel for this book, it’s title would be P.S. I still love you. I can’t wait to read it but it’s release will be next year.

I recommend this book to those who love contemporary and young adult novels.

5-rating

2 thoughts on “Book Review: To all the boys I’ve loved before by Jenny Han

Join the book madness!

