Book Review: Push by Claire Wallis

Title: Push (Push #1)

Author: Claire Wallis

Publisher: Mira Books (May 1, 2014)

Format: E-book

Pages: 400

Synopsis from Goodreads:

I feel like I am wrapped in a cyclone. Everything is whirling around me, drawing the air out of my lungs and filling me with the best kind of turmoil. Every time his tongue slides against mine, a prickle in my gut tells me how right we are together. How much I need David. How much I need us.

I hope the cyclone never stops.

Emma Searfoss has spent a lifetime trying to escape her abusive stepfather. It’s why she moved far away from home. It’s why she’s kept no ties with her remaining family. And it’s why she’s got a major rage problem. When her neighbor shows up to fix the kitchen in her new apartment, his enigmatic charm calms the fire in her. David is cool and collected, and he makes Emma feel safe for the first time ever. But David has his own chilling past–his six previous girlfriends have all disappeared without a trace. Emma’s walking a dangerous line, but David’s pull is intoxicating. And impossible to resist…

The perfect word to describe this book is CRAZY. I felt like my emotions have been played with all the things happening in the story. Push tells the story of Emma Searfoss who moved to her new apartment away from her hometown. There, she meets the mysterious guy named David Calgaro and instant attraction takes over them. However, David has this frightening past which made me so intrigued with the story.

Actually, I set my expectations pretty high for this. I mean the synopsis is really good and my first impression was that this book is going to be really thrilling. Guess what? It didn’t disappoint me.

I enjoyed it right from the start. I can feel the sparks fly as Emma and David met one another. Then, there’s the POV’s of David’s past girlfriends. Reading those ex-gfs’ POVs made my skin crawl from all the creepiness that is David. I am like: “WTF David? There’s no need to do that.” but I figured that there is a deep back story as to why David did that to all of his ex-girlfriends. I was scared for Emma all the time I was reading but then they had their special moments. I can’t help but be allured by David’s protectiveness and caring for Emma. I can feel the intensity of their emotions. That’s one of the best things I love about this novel.

As the story went on, I also saw that I actually didn’t feel bored. There’s always so much things going on. I love how hot the David and Emma are when they’re having their sexy times. Lol. I like their banters. They’re just so adorable together.

Towards the final chapters of the book, I was really freaked out about what happened to Emma’s stepdad. I had my suspicions about who did it to him. I guess I was wrong but then all that was in my mind was not to trust David. I know he loves Emma that much but then he has his history of lying about his past. Emma was right about lying being the only thing that will keep them apart from each other. Then, David tells Emma what happened in his childhood that made him f*cked up. He really is. Anyway, I adore how Emma accepted David despite all the flaws.

Here comes the CRAZY part, the freaking end of the story. This is the part when I was really freaking out because what the hell David? I was wishing hard that the novel doesn’t have to end there. It seriously gave me the chills. It’s crazy crazy crazy. I need the second book, okay? I want to know what happens next. I still can’t deal with the cliffhanger..I still can’t. Lol.

If you love new adult genre with the right amount of thrill and mystery, this is obviously the book that you MUST read.

4-rating

Join the book madness!

