Book Review: Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell

Title: Fangirl

Author: Rainbow Rowell

Publisher: St. Martin’s Griffin (September 10, 2013)

Format: Trade Paperback

Pages: 433

Synopsis from Goodreads

A coming-of-age tale of fanfiction, family, and first love.

Cath is a Simon Snow fan.

Okay, the whole world is a Simon Snow fan…. But for Cath, being a fan is her life—and she’s really good at it. She and her twin, Wren, ensconced themselves in the Simon Snow series when they were just kids; it’s what got them through their mother leaving.

Reading. Rereading. Hanging out in Simon Snow forums, writing Simon Snow fanfiction, dressing up like the characters for every movie premiere.

Cath’s sister has mostly grown away from fandom, but Cath can’t let go. She doesn’t want to.

Now that they’re going to college, Wren has told Cath she doesn’t want to be roommates. Cath is on her own, completely outside of her comfort zone. She’s got a surly roommate with a charming, always-around boyfriend; a fiction-writing professor who thinks fanfiction is the end of the civilized world; a handsome classmate who only wants to talk about words…and she can’t stop worrying about her dad, who’s loving and fragile and has never really been alone.

For Cath, the question is: Can she do this? Can she make it without Wren holding her hand? Is she ready to start living her own life? And does she even want to move on if it means leaving Simon Snow behind?

You know that feeling when you find a novel which practically describes your life? Yeah, this is just the feels that I got from the first page of Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell. I picked this one because I was really curious about the title, Fangirl. That’s what I am. I have been a fangirl for most of my life and to know that a book exists about a certain fangirl, made me crave to read it. Plus the fact that Rainbow “awesomeness” Rowell wrote it, I’ve already decided that this is going to be a great read.

Fangirl is about Cath who goes off to a University with her twin sister, Wren. They are Simon Snow fangirls. They love the series, read it, watch it, and write fanfictions about it  (really sounds like my life except the twin sister and fanfic writing part). When college came, Wren transforms into a crazy college girl and refused to be roommates with her twin. Meanwhile, Cath doesn’t want to change like her sister. She doesn’t want to let go of her Simon Snow experience. With a new roommate, Cath meets Levi who she thinks is an absolutely adorable guy. Then, at her Fiction-writing class, she meets Nick, who seems to have lots of similarities with her.

What I love about this book is that it’s very relevant to my life. I think it’s one of the factors that I love this novel so much. I love immersing myself in a world such as Cath’s because I feel like it describes my life. Simon Snow is like the Harry Potter in this story. Everyone in our generation must have been a Harry Potter fan (we always will be) and went through the same experiences as Cath undergoes as a Simon Snow fan.

Another thing I can relate to is Cath’s personality. I swear I am like Cath in real life. I don’t go out as much as I like. I’d rather stay in my room the whole day than spend a day socializing with people. Her dedication for her fandom is something that I felt too…And I have always wished that I am more outgoing like my friends.

I could go on and on about the things that I love about Fangirl. It made me laugh and cry. There are scenes in the books that just made me feel touched.

The characters are so likeable. Oh. My. Goodness. Reagan is one of my favorites. She’s not dramatic and she’s really awesome. Thank goodness Cath has her. Levi is funny and adorable. At first, I was repelled by him because what the heck..he’s not a book person. I’m like..”You’re all good Levi but why are you not a book person? Why?!!!” I’m more into Nick in the beginning. But as the story went on, I was pissed off how Nick doesn’t seem to be concerned at all for Cath after they do their writing sessions. He doesn’t walk her to her dorm. Wtf, Nick? Seriously? That’s when I realized that it has to be Levi for Cath. It has to be.

Cath’s and Wren’s family life is a messed up though. They’ve been through so many things together. Their mother left them when they were just kids. Then, their dad got pretty much lonely when they went away for college. Let’s also add to the pile, the fact that Wren changed and became annoying. I think the twin’s relationship with their dad is admirable. They’re all cute as messed up as their family is. Damn Laura!!!! I like the part where the twin’s reconciled and went back to their former selves.

Then, there’s the ending..gosh, it’s so beautiful. It’s very nostalgic, especially the crying part over the release of the last book in a series that you cared so much about. I don’t really want the book to end but I think that Rainbow Rowell ended it in the right way. When I finished the book, I think I teared up a bit, hugged the book, rocked back and forth, tweeted my feels, and stayed book hangover for days.

Overall, I think Fangirl is a MUST READ for every fangirl. If you are one, pick up and read this book at this moment. It’s funny and unputdownable. You will not regret it. I love how Rainbow Rowell writes. She’s basically one of the authors who I love so so much because she made me feel so much emotions. I am fangirling over her!!!

5-rating

Join the book madness!

