Book Review: The Key (The Arcadian Series Book One) by T.L. Coulter

Title: The Key (The Arcadian Series Book One) 

Author: T.L. Coulter

Published: March 27, 2014

Format: Kindle Edition

Pages: 398

Synopsis from Goodreads:

The Key is the first book in a brand-new trilogy. 

When the new King of Arcadia, Audric Sjöberg is forced into hiding, his younger brother Rek, is sent to the mortal realm to find “the key”. “The Key” is the one person that can help Audric take back his kingdom, and restore peace within the wizard realm. 

Kailee Reece is a normal teenager, or so she believes. When Kailee’s wishes turn into reality, she becomes the target of unwanted attention. Rek’s search sends him to Astoria Oregon, where he meets Kailee, and they are drawn to one another. Kailee and Rek attempt to fight their feelings, but the temptation is too great. 

Kailee and Rek’s happiness is threatened by an ancient prophecy that could tear them apart. Rek must convince Kailee to return to Arcadia in order to save Audric and his kingdom. Once the kingdom is safe, Rek may be forced to say goodbye to Kailee forever.

I have always been a lover of novels with magical worlds as their themes. That is one of the main reasons why I think that The Key is such a promising novel.  When I searched for The Key in Goodreads, I was immediately intrigued by the synopsis. Like I said, I am  into novels which involve magic and given the fact that the story has romance too, I thought that I got to read this one.

The story is about Rek who was sent by Audric, his brother and the king of their kingdom, on a journey to find “The Key” in the mortal world. At first, Rek didn’t have an idea that “The Key” is actually a person and much to his surprise, a woman. This woman is their only hope to save their kingdom and keep the peace in the Wizard Realm.

So, here’s the part I love..Rek is attracted to Kailee, a girl whom he meets in the mortal realm. They realize that they have feelings for each other but the thing is they will discover something that might keep them apart.

I think The Key is such a great read. It’s not overly dramatic which is exactly what I need right now. It has a refreshing concept which is just right for my taste. There is so much balance in this story. Actually, one of my favorite things about it is the humor. I really love reading the banters of the characters. Even if sometimes the jokes made by the characters (especially Gabe) are a little silly, I still find myself laughing. I think it’s essential to keep the balance with the serious matters in the book. Aside from that, there is equal plainness of the events in the mortal realm and extraordinary-ness of the events in the wizard realm. I thoroughly enjoyed it. I didn’t get bored at all.

Also, I must say that I really did feel the emotions going on with Kailee and Rek. They were like so tortured because they basically can’t have each other. Why? It’s because of a freaking prophecy that involves The Key and the first born of the king.. I was heartbroken for the two of them. I felt upset and frustrated. I wanted things to go right for both of them. While I was reading the part when Rek found out about this prophecy, I got suspicious. I think there is something that is being kept from Kailee and Rek. I feel that the prophecy told to them is not entirely true.

The thing I love the most about The Key is that it so unpredictable. Just when I thought I figured out what is going to happen, Ms. Coulter puts a plot twist there and makes me groan out of frustration. Don’t get me wrong, I mean it in a good way. I was given a really thrilling experience just by reading this novel.

Towards the end of the book, lots of things just happened. Hell broke loose. Like seriously. The readers get to know who the traitor is. Plus this traitor did something that would shatter the world of Rek. I must say that the closing part of the story is my favorite. I was shouting WTF over and over. I can’t believe that those events were happening. My feelings were kind of redeemed in the last chapter. I’d rather not say about it but I’m just so relieved when I read that part. But the thing is…the ending is a cliffhanger. My jaw was hanging at that time. I really really need to know what happens next. There are so many questions that came in my mind.

I have some minor issues though. There was a part when Astrid discovered who The Key was because of the meanings behind the names. For me, it was a little too quick to be figured out and too convenient for Rek. Maybe I was just expecting that they would find the torn page from The Key Lineage book. Or maybe they could have gone on an adventure or research to find out who The Key is. I understand though. It’s a bit logical for Astrid to find out because of her intuition powers.

I recommend  The Key to everyone especially to those who enjoy stories about wizards and magic. You will definitely enjoy it whether your a guy or a gal. It’s full action, comedy, and romance. It’s a light read considering the writing style is simple and easy to understand. My rating for this book is:

4-rating

One thought on “Book Review: The Key (The Arcadian Series Book One) by T.L. Coulter

  1. Pingback: Book Review: The Oracle by T.L. Coulter | The Book Nerd In Me

Join the book madness!

