Book Review: The Selection Stories: The Prince & The Guard by Kiera Cass

Title: The Selection Stories: The Prince & The Guard (The Selection #0.5, #2.5)

Author: Kiera Cass

Publisher:  HarperTeen (February 4, 2014)

Format: Paperback

Pages: 227

Synopsis from Goodreads:

Two novellas set in the world of Kiera Cass’s #1 New York Timesbestselling Selection series are now available in print for the first time.The Prince and The Guard both offer captivating views into the hearts and minds of the two men fighting to win America Singer’s love. This collection also features exclusive bonus content, including a sneak peek at The One, the eagerly anticipated third novel in the Selection series.

Before America arrived at the palace to compete in the Selection, there was another girl in Prince Maxon’s life. The Prince opens the week before the Selection begins and follows Maxon through the first day of the competition.

Raised as a Six, Aspen Leger never dreamed that he would find himself living in the palace as a member of the royal guard. In The Guard, readers get an inside look at Aspen’s life within the palace walls—and the truth about a guard’s world that America will never know.

Did I say that I love The Selection Series before? If I did already, I’m saying it now again. I love The Selection Series. I was actually looking forward to reading these novellas. I think it’s interesting to get away from Mer’s mind and go to Maxon’s and Aspen’s POV.

The Prince

This is the novella told in Prince Maxon’s POV. I was excited to read what’s on his mind and what was happening to him before The Selection. What we find out is that there’s a girl in his life before the girls of the competition. It was quite interesting to read about that. At the same time, I kind of sympathized with him because of his isolation and not really having friends. I hate how his father is so controlling. Queen Amberly is adorable as always.

I love how I also got a glimpse into Maxon’s head when the Selection started. I enjoyed reading the part when he met America the first time and knowing his thoughts about the other girls as well.

The Guard

On this one, it’s Aspen who is telling the story. I only read this novella because I need to know if there is something more to him. I don’t trust him from the very beginning of the story. I was suspicious of him. I was disappointed though because he turned out to be innocent. Lol, maybe I was just looking for negatives in his personality because I don’t like her with America. Anyway, I get to understand his motives for convincing her to enter the Selection.

Aside from these two novellas, there were bonus materials like the family tree of America, Prince Maxon, and Aspen. The back stories behind their families were intriguing to read especially Gregory Ilea’s story. He’s really sick.  Here’s my rating:

4-rating

4 thoughts on “Book Review: The Selection Stories: The Prince & The Guard by Kiera Cass

      • I really enjoyed The One. I am definitely Team Maxon, but I think reading the guard still might be fun. I found myself liking Aspen more in The One than in the other two books, actually.

      • Fellow Team Maxon here! Yeah, it was fun knowing Aspen’s thoughts. I really was suspicious of him but yeah he’s innocent. Lol. Really? Well I guess he was okay with The One. At least, he found another love interest. That’s good for him.

Join the book madness!

