Book Review: The Selection by Kiera Cass

Title: The Selection (The Selection #1)

Author: Kiera Cass

Publisher:  HarperTeen (April 24, 2012)

Format: Paperback

Pages: 327

Synopsis from Goodreads:

For thirty-five girls, the Selection is the chance of a lifetime. The opportunity to escape the life laid out for them since birth. To be swept up in a world of glittering gowns and priceless jewels. To live in a palace and compete for the heart of gorgeous Prince Maxon.

But for America Singer, being Selected is a nightmare. It means turning her back on her secret love with Aspen, who is a caste below her. Leaving her home to enter a fierce competition for a crown she doesn’t want. Living in a palace that is constantly threatened by violent rebel attacks.

Then America meets Prince Maxon. Gradually, she starts to question all the plans she’s made for herself—and realizes that the life she’s always dreamed of may not compare to a future she never imagined.

This book has been on my shelf for a long long time. I was just actually waiting for The One (3rd book in the series) to be released so that I could read the books simultaneously. I’m always interested in fairy tale-ish kind of stories. So, that made me pick up The Selection Series.

**Spoiler Alert!!!!** **Spoiler Alert!!!!** **Spoiler Alert!!!!**

Well, the story is basically like the TV Show, The Bachelor, but the thing is, it’s set on a dystopian world, modern day monarchy government where people live based on caste system. The Selection is a contest in which 35 girls are chosen as candidates to be the Prince Maxon’s wife. Right from the synopsis, I pretty much have an idea that this would be like a Cinderella story with a twist. I had high expectations because well I was hearing lots of praises for this series from my bookworm friends.

America Singer was encouraged by her mother and her boyfriend, Aspen, to join The Selection. She didn’t really wanted to join but Aspen insisted so she can have a chance at greater things in life that he cannot offer her. Then, she gets chosen as one of the 35 girls selected and so, her journey begins.

I definitely love this book! Actually, I’m surprised with myself because I was able to finish the book in less than a day. It’s the kind of book that you wouldn’t like to put down because everything about it is wonderful. I was very addicted to all the things happening in The Selection. There were parts that made me laugh and just frustrated. I felt so much connection with the characters and I love them all (except for Aspen and the King). Now, it’s really obvious that I am so Team Maxon.

What I love about America Singer is her stubbornness. I know she can be irritating but I adore her for standing up for the choices she made and she tried to hold on to her real personality. She didn’t allow herself to be changed by the whole Selection process. She’s simple and funny. On the other hand, I’m kind of irritated at her because of her indecisiveness. Though as a reader, I can understand her dilemma. It’s just that I got so frustrated by the decisions that she made throughout the entire book. Why can’t she just decide? What’s taking her so long? I mean she developed feelings for Maxon but why should she let things between her and Aspen continue? Aspen left you Mer!!

Okay, I know I’m really biased here but I don’t care about Aspen. I’m filling up this review with Maxon.

I love how difficult America is when it comes to Maxon in the beginning of the story. I swear America and Maxon are so funny and perfect for each other. I ship them so hard. Damn, this book gave me a lot of FEELS. They’re so cute that they made me squeal like most of the time I was reading this.

Some people say that the whole series should have been compressed into one book but I don’t really think it’s better that way. I love reading more about characters whom I fall in love with. I love the setting of the book, its plot, and the characters. It’s one of the stories which will make you daydream again about having your own prince. It’s really perfect. It’s not your typical fairy tale.

I recommend this book to those who love fairy tales, romance, and dystopian stories. I swear you will fall in love with this book.

5-rating

4 thoughts on “Book Review: The Selection by Kiera Cass

Join the book madness!

