Book Review: Ignite Me by Tahereh Mafi

Title: Ignite Me (Shatter me #3)

Author: Tahereh Mafi

Publisher:  HarperCollins (February 4, 2014)

Format: Paperback

Pages: 408

Synopsis from Goodreads:

The heart-stopping conclusion to the New York Times bestselling Shatter Me series, which Ransom Riggs, bestselling author of Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children, called “a thrilling, high-stakes saga of self-discovery and forbidden love.”

With Omega Point destroyed, Juliette doesn’t know if the rebels, her friends, or even Adam are alive. But that won’t keep her from trying to take down The Reestablishment once and for all. Now she must rely on Warner, the handsome commander of Sector 45. The one person she never thought she could trust. The same person who saved her life. He promises to help Juliette master her powers and save their dying world . . . but that’s not all he wants with her.

The Shatter Me series is perfect for fans who crave action-packed young adult novels with tantalizing romance like Divergent by Veronica Roth, The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins, and Legend by Marie Lu. Tahereh Mafi has created a captivating and original story that combines the best of dystopian and paranormal, and was praised by Publishers Weekly as “a gripping read from an author who’s not afraid to take risks.” Now this final book brings the series to a shocking and satisfying end.

This is my favorite book among all the books in the series not only because it’s the last one but I think Mafi’s writing style improved the most here (IMO as a reader).

In Ignite Me, Juliette becomes stronger, fiercer, and braver. I almost didn’t recognize her from the girl that I met in Shatter Me and Unravel Me. She was so optimistic in this book. This  attitude makeover that she had actually made the book more bearable and more likeable. Don’t get me wrong. I loved Shatter Me and Unravel Me. They’re wonderful. It’s just that it took me long to finish them both (or maybe I was just really in reading slump). Actually, I’m the kind of reader who is slowed down when the tone of the main character’s POV is so depressing and so dramatic. However, with this book, I clung to every chapter because I was enjoying Juliette’s story more. I didn’t have to endure much of her dramatic tendencies.

Other from Juliette, there are other characters who had a lot of changes in their attitude and outlook.

For example, Aaron Warner had a cold a**hole reputation to his soldiers and cocky attitude in the first two books. He definitely transformed in Ignite Me. He was more human. He let himself share himself to Juliette. He let his guard down, be weak for once, and let Juliette be the one to lift his spirits up. I think that is what was so beautiful between them. They compliment each other because they bring out the best from each other. They make each other stronger. I know, I know..I’m a little biased because I am Team Warner right from the start.

Adam just basically irritated me because he was bitter but I still have a soft spot for him. I also enjoyed Kenji in the story. He was the sunshine in all the chaos happening in the story. He’s hilarious. He’s my next favorite character to Warner. I love how Kenji became Juliette’s bestfriend.

The war towards the end of the book really made me held my breath. I was really praying that no beloved character of mine would die in this book. I wouldn’t say much about what happened but this is one thing for sure: Juliette ROCKS! Gosh! I love everything. It made me tear up to see her from a weak girl to someone who’s the strongest.

However, I think that the closing chapters of the story were a bit hurried. I only have few details to work inside my head about the aftermath of the war. I just felt that more about the aftermath could have been written. I would really appreciate if there would be an epilogue..just to give the readers a picture of what happened to Juliette’s world after the war. Though I know it would be hard to write. I mean after beating the Supreme, there are the other rulers of the Reestablishment. So, maybe the ending of the Shatter Me Series ended in the way it should. Oh, and a Warner’s POV of the war would be good too. I hope Ms. Mafi would write about that.

Overall, I think Ignite Me gave me chills and feels. It’s an amazing book. I think it might take a long time before I could move on, especially from Aaron Warner. LOL. My rating for this book:

5-rating

Join the book madness!

