Book Review: Unite Me by Tahereh Mafi

Title: Shatter Me (Shatter me #1.5, #2.5)

Author: Tahereh Mafi

Publisher:  HarperCollins (February 4, 2014)

Format: Paperback

Pages: 197

Synopsis from Goodreads:

Perfect for fans of Tahereh Mafi’s New York Times bestselling Shatter Me trilogy, this book collects her two companion novellas, Fracture Meand Destroy Me, in print for the first time ever. It also features an exclusive look into Juliette’s journal and a preview of Ignite Me, the hotly anticipated final novel of the series.

Destroy Me tells the events between Shatter Me and Unravel Me from Warner’s point of view. Even though Juliette shot him in order to escape, Warner can’t stop thinking about her—and he’ll do anything to get her back. But when the Supreme Commander of The Reestablishment arrives, he has much different plans for Juliette. Plans Warner cannot allow.

Fracture Me is told from Adam’s perspective and bridges the gap between Unravel Me and Ignite Me. As the Omega Point rebels prepare to fight the Sector 45 soldiers, Adam’s more focused on the safety of Juliette, Kenji, and his brother. The Reestablishment will do anything to crush the resistance . . . including killing everyone Adam cares about.

The Shatter Me series is perfect for fans who crave action-packed young adult novels with tantalizing romance like Divergent and The Hunger Games. This captivating story, which combines the best of dystopian and paranormal, was praised as “a thrilling, high-stakes saga of self-discovery and forbidden love” by Ransom Riggs, bestselling author of Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children.

This book is a complilation of bonus materials for the Shatter Me series. It’s divided into three parts: Destroy Me (Warner’s POV), Fracture Me (Adam’s POV), and the contents of Juliette’s Journal.

Destroy Me
This is told in Warner’s POV. I actually enjoyed reading this one. I so love getting inside Warner’s head. He is such a tortured soul. He’s got this sad childhood and this makes the readers understand what’s behind his tough exterior as the leader of Sector 45. Also, readers get a glimpse of his softer side and his intense love for Juliette.

Fracture Me
If there’s Warner’s POV, there must be an Adam’s POV for those who are on Team Adam. It begins in the part when the Omega Point soldiers were going to a fight against the Reestablishment (Sector 45) soldiers. Here, Adam feels the distance between him and Juliette growing. He still loves her but there is a barrier.

The war was really intense. I was scared for them and the civilians of Sector 45. I was sad about the aftermath. This was also the part where I got so irritated with Adam. How could you Adam?? Kenji you’re the best, like seriously. Thank God Tahereh Mafi created you. *I hope I didn’t say much? Lol.*

Juliette’s Journal
Reading Juliette’s journal was really interesting. It’s like poetry. You can feel so much emotions..how lonely Juliette was, how scared she was, and more. You will really sympathize with her because hers was a really sad story. I can’t imagine myself or even someone put in her position.

4-rating

Advertisements

Join the book madness!

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s